While exploring, you can save your work by saving a Look. This saves the Explore query, including the settings for filters, visualizations, fields, and sort order.
Both Looks and dashboards can be organized in folders (for example, you can have folders named Marketing, Q4 Sales Review, and so on) and later edited as needed.
This page explains how to save, edit, and make other changes to Looks and Look settings that affect what other users can see. For more information about the components on the Look page and interacting with a Look's data, visit the Viewing Looks in Looker documentation page.
Saving Looks from an Explore
To save a Look from an Explore:

- In the upper right of the Explore, select the Explore actions gear menu.
- Choose Save.
Select As a Look to open the Save Look menu.

In the Title field, enter a new title.
In the Description field, you can enter a description of the Look.
In the Folder drop-down menu, select a folder where you want to save the Look. You won't be able to select folders to which you don't have access.
You can locate subfolders where you want to save the Look by expanding top-level folders.
You can filter on subfolder titles in the filter field.
Save the Look.
- To save your Look and return to the Explore page, select Save.
- To save and view your Look, select Save & View Look.
- Alternatively, select the X at the top right of the Save Look menu to close the menu and return to the Explore without saving the Look.
Navigating to folders to see your Looks
You can access your company's folders by expanding the list of folders in the Folders section of the left navigation panel.
Moving and copying Looks
Once you create and save a Look to a folder, you can move and copy it to other folders to which you have access.
Continue reading for details about how to copy or move Looks to other locations within Looker.
Copying Looks
There are two ways to copy a Look:
Copying Looks from the Look page gear menu
To copy a Look from the Look page:

- In the upper right of the Look page, select the Explore actions gear menu.
- Choose Save.
Select Save As... to open the Save Look menu.

In the Title field, enter a new title.
In the Description field, you can change or enter a description of the Look.
In the Folder drop-down menu, select a folder where you want to save the Look. You won't be able to select folders to which you don't have access.
You can locate subfolders where you want to save the Look by expanding top-level folders.
You can filter on subfolder titles in the filter field.
Save the Look.
- To save your Look and remain on the original Look page, select Save.
- To save and view the copied Look, select Save & View Look.
- Alternatively, select the X at the top right of the Save Look menu to close the menu and return to the original Look without saving the copy.
Copying Looks from a folder
Once you create and save a Look or Looks to a folder, you can move and copy one individual Look or more than one Look in bulk to other folders to which you have access. You can view the detailed steps for moving and copying Looks on the Organizing and managing access to content documentation page.
Moving Looks
You can only move Looks from a folder. You can move Looks individually or in bulk to other folders to which you have access. You can view the detailed steps for moving Looks on the Organizing and managing access to content documentation page.
Editing Looks
After creating a Look, you can edit its underlying query, edit its name, and decide if it should automatically run when loaded. If you have permission to do so, you can also give access to the Look through publicly accessible URLs, described in more detail on the Public sharing, importing, and embedding of Looks documentation page.
Editing a Look's source query
You can edit a saved Look, including its fields, filters, visualizations, and sorting by following these steps:

Select Edit on the saved Look's page to open the Edit Look menu.

On the Edit Look menu, make any changes you want to the Look, including fields, filters, and visualization. You can make changes from both the field picker and the Filters panel, as necessary. For example, Users, a count of users, was added to the query.
- For more information regarding making changes to an Explore query, see the Creating and editing Explores documentation page.
After you make the changes, select the Run button to update the data and preview the changes.
Select Save to save the changes and navigate back to the Look page.
- Alternatively, select the Cancel option next to the